Sarajevo: Prospects For Progress

Day 1
May 16 2016

Opening Remarks

Sasha Toperich, Senior Fellow, CTR - SAIS
Elmedin Konakovic, Prime Minister, Sarajevo Canton
Maureen Cormack, Ambassador of the United States of America in Bosnia and Herzegovina

Elmedin Konakovic
Maureen Cormack
Sasha Toperich

Program on the EU agenda: Where Are We Today?


Fadil Novalic, Prime Minister, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina
Zeljka Cvijanovic, Prime Minister, Republika Srpska
Lars-Gunner Wigemark, Head of EU Delegation and Special Representative


Daniel Hamilton, Executive Director, CTR-SAIS

Daniel Hamilton
Fadil Novalic
Lars-Gunnar Wigemark
Zeljka Cvijanovic
11:30 - 11:45

Coffee Break

Bosnia and Herzegovina: Post Election Plan?


Tatiana Proskuryakova, Country Manager for Bosnia and Herzegovina, The World Bank Group
Milan Sitarski, IDPI
Gary O'Callaghan, Special Advisor to the EU Special Representative in BiH


Michael Haltzel, Senior Fellow, CTR-SAIS

Gary O’Callaghan
Michael Haltzel
Milan Sitarski
Tatiana Proskuryakova

Functionality, Rule of Law and Economic Development – Conditions for Bosnia-Herzegovina’s Political Stability

Valentin Inzko, High Representative, OHR, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Valentin Inzko
13:10 - 14:30


How Can Bosnia and Herzegovina Get on to the Road to Stability and Prosperity? Private Sector Development, Better Business Environment & Reform of State-owned Enterprises

Keynote adress:

Mirko Sarovic, Minister of Foreign Trade and Economic Relations, Bosnia and Herzegovina


Ian Brown, EBRD, Head of Bosnia and Herzegovina office
Jelka Milicevic, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance,  Federation of BiH
Thomas Lubeck, Regional Manager, Western Balkans, IFC
Goran Mirascic, Advisor to the Prime Minister of the Federation of BiH


Mak Kamenica, Executive director, America – Bosnia Foundation

Goran Mirascic
Ian Brown
Jelka Milicevic
Mak Kamenica
Mirko Sarovic
Thomas Lubeck
15:45 - 16:00

Coffee Break

Fighting Corruption: Best Practices and the Best Way Forward

Video message:

Roger Wicker, United States Senator (MI-R)


Srdjan Blagovcanin, Chairman of Board of Directors, Transparency International Moderator
Peter Ainsworth, Senior Anti-Corruption Counsel” Criminal Division, US Department of Justice


Daniel Serwer, Senior Fellow, CTR - SAIS

Daniel Serwer
Peter Ainsworth
Roger Wicker
Srdjan Blagovcanin

Reception at the HS Brewery

Hosted by: EU Special Representative


Renzo Daviddi, Deputy Head od European Union Delegation in Bosnia and Herzegovina
Maureen Cormack, Ambassador of the United States of America in Bosnia and Herzegovina
Marinko Cavara, President, Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Video message:

Victoria Nuland, Assistant Secretary of State for European and Eurasian Affairs, United States Department of State (via video link)

Mediterranean Basin Leadership Award Ceremony:

Mirko Sarovic, Minister of Foreign Trade and Economic Relations – 2016 «Mediterranean Basin Leadership Award» recipient

Remarks by:

Daniel Hamilton, Executive Director, CTR – SAIS

Daniel Hamilton
Marinko Cavara
Maureen Cormack
Mirko Sarovic
Renzo Daviddi
Victoria Nuland
Day 2
May 17 2016

Health Reform: Best Way Forward

Boris Hrabac, Director, Cantonal Public Health Institute, Zenica
Rade Bosnjak, Director of Health Insurance Fund of Herzegovina-Neretva Canton
Senad Huseinagic, General Director, Institute for Health and Food Safety - Zenica
Ranko Skrbic, Professor at Medical Faculty - Banjaluka, former Minister of the Ministry of Health of Republika Srpska
Timothy Johnston, Program Leader for Inclusive Growth and Human Development Southeast Europe, Europe and Central Asia Region, The World Bank


Daniel Hamilton, Executive Director, CTR-SAIS

Boris Hrabac
Daniel Hamilton
Rade Bosnjak
Ranko Skrbic
Senad Huseinagic
Timothy Johnston
11:30 - 11:45

Coffee Break

Video message

Ulrike Lunacek, Vice President, European Parliament, Member of the Greens/EFA group
Ulrike Lunacek

Strengthening the Private Sector and Improving the Competitiveness of the BiH Private Sector

Mirza Ustamujic, General Manager, SPICA Systems d.o.o, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Mirsad Zaimovic, General Director, BH Telekom
Zlatan Dedic, General Director, Svjetlostkomerc
Ruzica Udovicic, General Director, Aluminij d.d. Mostar


Sean Parramore, Advisor, America - Bosnia Foundation

Mirsad Zaimovic
Mirza Ustamujic
Ružica Udovičić
Sean Parramore
Zlatan Dedic


Hoyt Brian Yee, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State, Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs

Hoyt Brian Yee
14:00 - 15:15